NIGCOMSAT launches first phase of 774 LG Internet connectivity project in 579 local government areas in Nigeria

Source: Vanguard Group

According to Vanguard, Nigeria Communications Satellite Limited (NIGCOMSAT Ltd) has launched a VSAT installation project to provide satellite coverage to 579 local government areas in Nigeria. The program leverages NigComSat-1R’s Ku-band network assets to support the federal government’s efforts to reach all 774 local government areas across the country. In addition, the first phase of the project has been launched and is planned to cover 40 local government area council offices in eight states in Nigeria, including Borno State, Cross River State, Imo State, Kogi State, Kwara State, and Ogun State , Sokoto and Zamfara States.

Ms. Nkechi Jane Egerton-Idehen, General Manager of NIGCOMSAT, affirmed that the portable inverter system with solar panels will ensure uninterrupted power supply through green energy solutions. The installation team has been mobilized and dispatched, marking the launch of the project implementation in Kababunu, Kogi State on March 5, 2024.

Furthermore, Ms. Egerton-Idehen said Kogi State was the first state to benefit from the project covering the five local government areas of the state, in line with the strategic blueprint of the ministry and is a key step towards the realization of the Bola Ahmed Tinibu An important step in the President’s mission to deliver efficient public service. Serving Nigerians at the local government level. The NIGCOMSAT Managing Director further mentioned that in addition to the initial allocation of five local government areas to Kogi State, the Honorable Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy, Dr. Bosun Tijani, has generously included five additional local government areas. This increases the total number from 40 to 45, expanding the national coverage of the first phase of the project.

The first five local government areas to be covered are Bassa, Kabba/Bunu, Lokoja, Okene and Okehi, while the other five local government areas approved by the minister are Adavi, Ajaokuta, Kogi, Mopamuro and Dekina.

Recently, Dr. Bosun Tijani, Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy of the Federal Republic of Nigeria announced 774 project local government interconnection. The project aims to promote inclusive development and improve access to digital public infrastructure in government offices across Nigeria, including the most remote areas. Additionally, the project will leverage the existing infrastructure of the Nigeria Communications Satellite Company Limited (NigComSat) and Galaxy Backbone to provide connectivity to all 774 LG secretariats across Nigeria.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *